WLISD School Trustees Honored as a ESC 18 Board of the Year


The School Board of Wink-Loving Independent School District Board is one of only sixteen Texas school district boards of trustees that have been selected as regional nominees for the 2015 Texas Association of School Administrators (TASA) School Board Awards. The WLISD Board was nominated by Superintendent Dr. Dewitt Smith earlier this year.

Dr. Smith stated, “The WLISD trustees is an incredible group who care deeply about our students and community. I can say for certain that they're very deserving.  It's an absolute privilege and a lot of fun to work with such a committed Team of 8”.

Members serving on the WLISD Board are President Eddie Brewer, Vice-President Minerva Soltero, Assistant Secretary Kristyl Hotze, Larry Antley, Russ Slaughter, Brad White and Melissa Halterman.

The only other school board recognized in Regional Service Center 18 is the Midland ISD School Board.

Texas school superintendents who belong to TASA and meet other criteria may nominate their boards of trustees for the TASA School Board Awards. Committees of TASA members organized by Texas’ regional education service centers review the nominations and select up to two school boards for consideration for the state-level awards: one with fewer than 1,000 students and one with 1,000 or more students. TASA’s School Board Awards Committee will meet in late August to select up to five of the nominated boards to be recognized as Honor Boards. Those finalists will be interviewed at the TASA/TASB Convention in Austin October 2-4, and one will be named Outstanding School Board of the Year during that event.

The TASA School Board Awards Program was established in 1971 to recognize the dedication and service of school boards that make a positive impact on the schoolchildren of Texas.

TASA is the professional association for Texas public school administrators, providing networking and professional learning opportunities, legislative advocacy, and targeted communications to support the work of superintendents and other school leaders. The organization’s mission is to promote, provide and develop leaders who create and sustain student-centered schools and develop future-ready students.

TASA’s Director of Communications stated, “Congratulations to the 16 school district boards of trustees that have been selected as regional nominees for TASA’s 2015 Outstanding School Board Award, and thank you to the regional education service centers for their hard work in coordinating the regional judging.”
  • Eddie Brewer
    President Service 2004 - Present
    Employed by Southern Union Gas Place 2 Term expires May 2016
  • Minerva Soltero
    Vice President Service 1998 – Present
    Employed by Winkler County Tax Office Place 1 Term expires May 2016
  • Kristyl Hotze
    Assistant Secretary Service 2009 - Present
    Place 5 Term expires May 2017
  • Larry Antley
    Member Service 2009 - Present
    Employed by Bopco Place 6 Term expires May 2018
  • Russ Slaughter
    Member Service 1999 - Present
    Self-Employed Place 4 Term Expires May 2017
  • Brad White
    Member Service 2009 - Present
    Employed by Plains Pipeline Place 7 Term expires May 2018
  • Melissa Halterman
    Member Service 2009 - Present
    Self-employed Place 3 Term expires May 2016